And The Tears Flowed!

Sadly, today was the last day of the year and the last day ever for our amazing year 7s. I must say, they held it together brilliantly throughout the day, signing each other’s shirts and, as we’ve come to expect from this group, running around the school to help move desks and chairs to different classes. However, as the final siren approached the cracks appeared and the tears flowed. This was the first group of year 1s in the school and they’ll be the final group of year 7s, so they had a special kind of bond between them. This was clearly evident as they made their final farewells to each other, the teachers and their school. Whilst some may stay together, others are going it alone at a variety of high schools, so for them the farewells were final.

As a teacher, we often receive the thanks of the students and the parents at the end of each year for the time we’ve spent with them. However, the thanks must come from us to them. We become teachers because we want to help children, to make a difference and to see our students grow both educationally and emotionally. This only works when we have the cooperation and commitment from students and parents and with this group we had both, in spades. This meant we could do our jobs properly and, in my own case, go even further with some topics than I ever thought I could. Consequently, the rewards I received from them, the immense feeling of satisfaction and pride was the embodiment of why I love my job. I only had to drag my ageing, aching bones into the class and receive their smiling “Good Morning” to feel refreshed and energised for the day ahead. Our job satisfaction is measured in smiles, growth, those amazing “Aahh” moments of discovery, the creativity and imagination that blows our minds and the knowledge that we have made a difference and have had the trust and friendship of incredible people. The rewards we get are a reflection of the partnerships and relationships grown over the year and the commitment and effort from everyone working together. These rewards are massive and are the reason we are teachers. So, for the incredible rewards I’ve received this year and the reaffirmation that teaching is the best job in the world I say a big “thank you” to the wonderful (ex) students of LA19. Have a great summer break and enjoy your new adventures in 2015.

5 thoughts on “And The Tears Flowed!

  1. Mr Hope,
    First I’d like to say, I think you’re exaggerating by saying ‘your old, aching bones’, second of all, I’d like to thank you for being an amazing teacher this year. I’ve learnt so much about the world and I’ve really enjoyed your methods of teaching. I can’t wait to comment on the ‘new comer’s’ blogs next year and I hope to continue writing on my own blog! 🙂
    Abbey 🙂

  2. Thank you, Abbey. I had an awesome year. We teachers are a bit selfish, we do it because of the rewards we get from our students and this year I’ve had heaps. It would be great if you would comment on the new blogs as it would give the students encouragement. Have a great Christmas.

  3. I have learnt so much this year and not just work; also logic and respect too. I’ll try to comment on your blog and the other students blogs often. Oh, and do I still have a blog? Thank you for everything this year – it’s been great fun!

  4. Demi, I’ve learnt a lot, too. We never stop learning, but this year I’ve been lucky enough to have had such a great bunch of people to work with and learn from. It would be great to hear from you and find out what you’re doing and how you are, so I’ll leave your blog open just in case you want to post. I’ll leave it open for as long as you want, but don’t be disappointed if you find you have too much homework and can’t get to it – I’ll completely understand.

    Have a fabulous Christmas and a great holiday, and good luck for your new start in 2015.
    🙂

  5. Thank you – that’s awesome! 😉 I will definitely post and try to keep up with it during school. Even if I have a lot of homework, I should still be able to post once a week – thank you sooooooo much!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*