Mother’s Day Gift

This is such a late post, but due to huge changes in timetables and having to write reports it seems to have totally slipped my mind. Anyway, for a Mother’s Day gift the students created a wooden photo of themselves. To start with they worked in groups of three and each student had a role; whilst one held their wood tightly against a mitre board and sawed, the others also held the wood and watched out for any safety issues. Once sawn, a photo was stuck onto the wood with a gel medium and left to dry before wetting the paper and gradually removing it. This was done until only the image remained. A finishing coat of varnish was applied and a stand glued onto the back. The students did all the work themselves and thoroughly enjoyed their new experiences. I hope you like the finished products. I particularly liked the ones which went through the image a little as it gave a real antique look.

Indianna

Indianna

Mae

Mae

Jessica

Jessica

6 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Gift

  1. I love the idea of putting pictures onto wood – especially for a gift. Great images!

    Demi!

  2. They turned out really well this year, Demi. Partly because some of the students went too far when they removed the paper, but this gave their image a great antique look. Glad you liked them.

  3. I loved mine 🙂 very creative and unique!

  4. My mum said how did we do that because she wonts to do one of my sister and brother.

  5. My mum said it did not look like me at all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*