Historic Chester

Everyone knows that, of all the countries around the world, the UK has an immensely rich and varied history. Few places have as great a history as the town of Chester. The name itself is historic, its origins being Roman meaning a fortress or fortified town and the Roman presence in the area is still strongly visible. We saw the remains of a genuine Roman amphitheatre with the remains of the thick walls still visible. We also saw the great medieval wall which still showed the scars of the English Civil War (1642 – 1651). The Royalists (those who supported the king) were camped within the town whilst the Parliamentarians (those who supported the freedom of parliament) blasted them with their cannons. The photo below shows where the wall had to be repaired. An even older history is also visible in Chester, one that doesn’t go back hundreds, but rather millions of years. Sedimentary rock which was laid down millions of years ago forms the bedrock upon which the town is built and with lower water levels this is clearly now visible. Check out the photos to see this amazing history.

Medieval wall with repairs.

Medieval wall with repairs.

Wall built on sedimentary rock.

Wall built on sedimentary rock.

The Roman amphitheatre.

The Roman amphitheatre.

A building from 1664.

A building from 1664.

9 thoughts on “Historic Chester

  1. Hi Mr Hope! It looks like your having a great time in England. I don’t know that place you are on that photo but looks like a cool place. I like England history from all of the Romans. That wall you were standing next to, is that in a place in Chester (historic). It seems like a really cool place to be and i’m really jealous. I hope you have a nice couple more weeks in England and hope the weather is good for you. See you soon

    -Kyza

  2. Oh yeah Mr Hope so sorry to comment again but could we change out header to a different thing instead of the light photo. It’s fine if not.

    -Kyza

  3. Hi Mr Hope, It looks from the posts and the pictures that you are really enjoying your time in England, I never knew that England had that much history, compared to Australia, it is heaps, I look forward to hopefully travelling to England one day. I hope you enjoy the rest of the weeks in England. See you in week 3.

  4. Hi Mr Hope! These photos are extraordinary! I’m sooo jealous! It looks like your really have a great time. I get really interested in history and I love looking at these photos you have taken. All the kids back here are really missing you. But we’re still having a great time with Mrs Vandanbrock! (Sorry if I spelt that wrong).

  5. Mr Hope, your photos are again amazing. The history of Chester is certainly interesting and we can not even begin to imagine the age of these buildings and remains. The building has so much character. Is it a B&B, cafe or what is it used for? Hope you are enjoying a great break.

  6. Kyza, yes, you can change your header anytime, that’s fine.

  7. Jordan, I’m loving my time back in the UK. I’ve been able to see places I never really visited while I lived here. It’s going to be hard to come back to school!

  8. Will, I’m having a great time here in the UK. The history is everywhere and that’s one of my favourite things about it. I’m glad you are all enjoying having Mrs Vandebroek – I knew you would.

  9. I just love the style of the buildings (cottage style?). Seeing something that’s that old really makes you think hard about what life use to be like. We are enjoying having Mrs Vandebroek. She teaches quite like you. Phoebe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*