A Much Needed Breather

Anyone who watches this blog will have noticed that it went quiet for the last couple of weeks. There’s a very good reason for that – we were on holiday! That’s not to say that this is the natural order of things, in fact it’s very different from the way I’ve done things in the past. Previously I’ve taken my work home with me to such an extent that I never really had a break. However, this isn’t really a sustainable way to live, even to exist, so I chose to make a change. At the beginning of every break the principal would always tell the staff to go home, relax and do no work. “Yeah,” I thought, “that doesn’t really work.” But he was right! Turns out he always has been. I feel much more refreshed coming back from the break, even if I do have the usual teacher thing of the nagging doubt in the back of my mind that I haven’t really done enough and I’m now behind. Still, it was worth it. But here we are, at the start of a new term, so I’m right back into it. The kids are hard at work and having fun (which always helps) and so am I. Check out these photos of us doing Meccano, a subject heavy in collaboration, social growth, language, reading, problem solving, coding…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*